to the triple winds: i am bound to my sentences

Dear Readers,

Yesterday morning, I got to meet with two of my favorite people: Ellen Frost at Local Color Flowers in Baltimore, and Jennie Love at Love n’ Fresh Flowers in Philadelphia. These two designers are big players in the local flower movement– what a joy to hear them talk about weddings they are working on, and the new flowers they’re excited about! I love this picture of a swing in Jennie’s spring portfolio… don’t you just want to take off your shoes and let the swing lift you away into blue sky?

katie-seats1-1024x766

But, this is going to be a long winter. I was hoping to till the field in early March; there’s no way it will be warm or dry enough in the next week! So, in the words of William Carlos Williams, “Again I reply to the triple winds…

running chromatic fifths of derision
outside my window:
Play louder.
You will not succeed. I am
bound more to my sentences
the more you batter at me
to follow you.
And the wind,
as before, fingers perfectly
its derisive music.”

Which is to say that I am still hoping against hope for spring and seeding in an unheated hoophouse, despite the freezing temperatures.

photo 2(1)

The seedlings are nestled under remay, which is a white cloth that provides some protection from the cold. They’re doing alright, though they’re certainly not growing very fast:

photo 3(1)

photo 2

photo 1

Weird to think that this time last year, I was growing seedlings under a light contraption next to my bed! The hoophouse is definitely an improvement. Stay strong, seedlings…….

I wish you all a final winter squash before your first spring arugula! I’ll end with another of Jennie’s inspiring springtime pictures… be well!

Laura Beth

 

April_Daffodils-1024x765

 

 

 

One thought on “to the triple winds: i am bound to my sentences

Leave a Reply

