daddy-isms for crop planning

Dear Readers,

This is what I’ve been up to, when I’m not working at Future Harvest CASA or nannying: 

That is a tiny screenshot of just one crop plan for next season. I have three crop plans, one each for spring, summer, and fall. Each crop plan lists the flower family variety/color, and planting spacing for everything I’ll plant during that season. Some varieties are listed multiple times, like basil, as you can see above. That’s to indicate that I’ll plant basil four times in the late summer/early fall, a week or two weeks apart. 

The crop plan serves a couple of purposes. As my dad says, “Preparation is 9/10ths of the law.” The more I know about what my season will look like, the better I will be at making it happen. Another daddy-ism: “What’s the definition of insanity? Doing the same thing again and again, and expecting a different result.” Last season, I didn’t really stick to my crop plan. I’m hoping that putting time and thought into this plan will help me to create more realistic goals. I will try to follow my plan this year! Thanks, dad! (Pictured being incredibly useful on the left below)

We got halfway through putting up the electric fence last weekend! That involved a trip to the Ag store in Sykesville, a stop at Dunkin’ Donuts for coffee, a trip to Home Depot for parts that the fence people forgot to give us, and lots of gently pounding fiberglass stakes into the ground with hammers. Thanks so much to my amazing boyfriend Jascha and my also amazing dad for their humor and patience and handiwork. 

Next week, we will finish putting the Turbo tape on the posts, and hook up the solar powered charger to the fence. I’m hoping to have the shed installed next week too! Other exciting news: this Friday, Ellen Frost at Local Color Flowers will take a look at my crop plan, and we’ll add things that she wants to buy. I’ll write a post about our meeting- I think it’s fascinating, what the trends dictate that Ellen uses for weddings!

 

Feel free to comment and ask questions, as always. Stay warm!!!

 

Laura Beth

One thought on “daddy-isms for crop planning

Leave a Reply

