winter storage

Dearest Readers,

This blog is a window into the reality of my experience farming; one bittersweet reality is that the frost is here, and the 2011 summer farming season is over. In keeping with the flow of the seasons, this is my last post until the next farming season, which begins in the early spring of 2012. Drumlin Farm will continue to operate, selling veggies at market until Thanksgiving, distributing its winter CSA shares, maple syruping, and delivering food to restaurants. Saturday is my last day of work; then I’m home to Maryland until the spring. I will most likely spend my next season at an organic farm and IPM (integrated pest management) orchard in Pennsylvania. I can’t wait to share with you about farming not only veggies, but fruit!

This week, we have spent hours harvesting potatoes, carrots, and beets for the root cellar. In the next several weeks, cabbage, rutabaga, celeriac, brussels sprouts, storage radish, and parsnips will follow.

Here are some pictures from the season, taken by a lovely volunteer named Diane:

the service barn, where we eat lunch, keep lots of supplies, hang garlic, store onions

harvesting ground cherries for market

Gomez, the red truck, and some of the farm crew

the farm apprentices

Greg, wheel hoeing

flower harvest in the late afternoon

Thank you all for your support and enthusiasm. Good food is just about the most exciting thing I can think of; I’m so happy you allowed me to share that! I hope you’ll all continue to read in the spring. In the meantime, please email me or post on the blog with your questions or comments throughout the winter.

I wish you all a restful winter with good company and many, many, many vegetables.

Love,

Laura Beth

4 thoughts on “winter storage

  1. LOVE the photos!!! What a joy and an education to read your blog, Laura Beth. Thank you for keeping up with it – and for growing, weeding, and harvesting ALL of the delicious vegetables – some of which I had never even heard of:)
    I’ll miss reading your recipes and following the natural progression of ‘life in the fields’. You have inspired me.

    • Hi Dan,

      I think your best bet is to look in some international grocery stores. I don’t know of any near Columbia, but you can Google it and I’m sure you’ll find a whole bunch of places that are easily accessible by subway. The ash gourd is not super common in East Coast farms, as far as I know, as it originates in Asia.

      Good luck!
      Laura Beth

Leave a Reply

