first frost

Dear Readers,

We continue to attend our weekly market, despite the dwindling variety of food in our fields. It frosted two nights this past week! We’ve got a lot of kale/collards/carrots/beets, and plenty of winter storage vegetables like celeriac, potatoes, and rutabaga. I enjoyed talking to people about our watermelon radish, a beautiful cold weather crop that looks like a white turnip, but inside, it is a delicious watermelon pink!

courtesy of google

The radish sold out pretty quickly, so I sampled beets and carrots for the rest of the market. One woman so enjoyed the display on my food sampling tray that she took a picture. She made sure to get my beet-stained hands in there, too:

courtesy of the lady at the market

We are all freaking out that winter is coming, and fresh food will no longer be sprouting at our fingertips. What to do!?!?!? Signe plans to volunteer some hours in exchange for a winter CSA at Drumlin Farm. Emily will probably move out West, to some sunny part of the world where vegetables grow outside all season. I’ll be back in Maryland, and hopefully I’ll coax some vegetables out of a winter garden at my parents’ house. I’m going to try a cold frame, which is basically a sandbox filled with rich soil for planting, and a glass top that acts like a greenhouse. When the weather gets warmer in the springtime, the top is removed and the box becomes a regular open garden. See Elliot Coleman’s absolutely wonderful, completely friendly book on harvesting year-round for more details: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1890132276/fourseasonfar-20

In any case, I’m revving up to eat lots of winter storage vegetables. It’s pretty hard to get sick of roasted garlic, potatoes, turnips, carrots, beets, celeriac, squash, and rutabaga. Also, napa cabbage keeps for months, if stored correctly– so stock up! I really enjoyed stir-frying napa cabbage/garlic/leeks in coconut oil, scrambling in some egg, tossing some chickpeas in, and drizzling the steaming concoction with a curry sauce made from red curry paste, tahini, lemon juice, soy sauce, garlic powder, coriander, and cumin. I think I can pass up summer veggies if I can get my hands on some awesome winter vegetables!

Share your favorite fall vegetable recipes, please!

Laura Beth

Leave a Reply

